The Carl Th. Dreyer Award

Still from The Passion of Joan of Arc (Carl Th. Dreyer, FR, 1928).
Every year on Dreyer’s birthday, the Carl Th. Dreyer Memorial Fund awards a prize primarily to a young film director, or other artist working in film, in recognition of an outstanding artistic performance. The fund is financed by the annual earnings from Gaumont’s distribution of The Passion of Joan of Arc.

Award winners:

2018    Hlynur Pálmason, director
            See also: Winter brothers dares to be different
2017    Puk Grasten, director og Christian Tafdrup, director
2016    Martin Zandvliet, directors and screen writer
2015    Anders Østergaard, director
See also: Anders Østergaard receives Dreyer award
Honorary Award 2014: Jan Troell, director
2014    Manuel Alberto Claro, cinematographer

            See also: Honour to von Trier Cinematographer
2013    Nikolaj Arcel, director and screen writer. 
            See also: Nikolaj Arcel receives Dreyer Award
2012    Mads Brügger, director. 
            See also: Mads, keep on lying!
2011    Michael Noer & Tobias Lindholm, directors and screen writers    
2010    Nils Malmros, director 
2009    Henrik Ruben Genz, director 
2008    Morten Hartz Kaplers, director
2007    Niels Arden Oplev, director
2006    Dagur Kári, director 
2005    Max Kestner, director
2004    Christoffer Boe, director
2003    Annette K. Olesen & Jesper W. Nielsen, directors
2002    Ole Chr. Madsen & Åke Sandgren, directors
2001    Lone Scherfig & Per Fly, directors
2000    Lotte Svendsen & Nicolas Winding Refn, directors 
1999    Thomas Vinterberg & Chr. Braad Thomsen, directors
1998    Jonas Elmer, director
1997    Bo hr. Hansen, screen writer
1996    Lars von Trier, director
1995    Niels Vørsel, screen writer
1994    Janus Billeskov-Jansen, editor
1993    Birger Larsen, director
1992    Susanne Bier, director

Read the citations from 1999-2015 (only in Danish)

About the Award

Since 1992 the Dreyer Award has been assigned to "young filmmakers or film professionals who have distinguished themselves within Danish cinema". The award includes a cash prize and is presented annually by the Carl Theodor Dreyer Foundation, whose members count Johannes Riis and Eva Novrup Redvall (both Associate Professors, Copenhagen University) and Jakob Buhl Vestergaard (Head of Filmhouse, DFI).